Home / Local Governments / E-Pay
Individual making electronic payment on laptop
What is E-Pay?

E-Pay is a full-service electronic payment program specifically designed for government agencies in Illinois so they can quickly and securely receive monies through convenient, customized payment channels.  Over 800 local and state government agencies, from cities and villages to schools and park districts, have adopted E-Pay since it was created in 2002 to provide public entities with a safe, timely, and competitively priced electronic payment solution.  Read E-Pay's services overview sheet.


Who Participates?

All types of local and state government agencies can participate, including elected county officials, county treasurers, cities and villages, schools, libraries, parks and recreation facilities, sewage treatment districts, sanitation districts, other special taxing districts, community colleges, and universities.


As of January 2016, E-Pay participants included:

        •  36 state agencies

        •  66 county government units

        •  246 cities and villages

        •  193 schools and board of education offices

        •  15 universities and colleges

        •  108 libraries and library districts

        •  13 parks and recreation facilities

        •  10 sewage treatment districts

        •  10 sanitation districts

        •  5 public transportation

        •  12 miscellaneous


Benefits of E-Pay
  • Speed and Convenience – Constituents can pay bills or fees 24 hours a day, seven days a week, from any location.  It’s fast, convenient, and secure.
  • Accessibility – Payments are processed through multiple channels.  E-Pay participants may accept credit cards, bank cards, and/or electronic checks over the counter, online, or by telephone.
  • Security and Compliance – Operated in a manner consistent with the Deposit of Statement Monies Act (15 ILCS 520), the Local Government Acceptance of Credit Cards Act (50 ILCS 345), PCI Data Security Standards, and prevailing credit card industry rules. 
  • Minimal Costs – Not only is E-Pay competitively priced, but multiple pricing options give participants the choice between paying credit card processing fees or passing those fees on to their constituents.
  • Customer Care – Access to onboarding training, customer care specialists, Payment Card Industry (PCI) compliance support, and payment processing consulting.
  • Industry Expertise – E-Pay staff are experts in electronic payment processing. They use this expertise to acquire the latest and most secure payment technology and assist participants in finding the solutions that best suits their needs.
  • Investment Earnings – Participants have an opportunity to earn greater returns on their balances and enjoy immediate access to their monies as part of The Illinois Funds Local Government Investment Pool.
  • Easy Application – No contract or request for proposal (RFP) required. Government agencies are able to leverage the economies of scale provided by the Treasurer’s master processing contract.


To open or update an E-Pay account, click here.


If you are a governmental entity and would like more information on services offered through E-Pay, please visit our FAQs page, or feel free to contact the Treasurer’s Office at 1-866-831-5240 or submit an online contact form.



Make a Payment

To find out if your local government participates, search its name in the section below under “Make a Payment.”

Make a Payment

E-Pay allows you to safely pay bills to local governments and state agencies at your convenience.

Illinois E-Pay Logo

Search for a government unit to make a payment

Important Notice: We have recently implemented Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards requirements that may interfere with your ability to use E-Pay. If you receive an error message when attempting to access E-Pay, please consult our browser information page for more information.

In the box to above, enter the full name of the government unit to which you wish to make a payment to.  


•  For example, to locate the Tazewell County Treasurer's Office, enter: "Tazewell County Treasurer" and click “Search."

•  For example, to locate the City of Springfield, enter: "Springfield" and click “Search”.


To comply with current Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards, the E-Pay e-commerce application currently supports the following browsers:  Internet Explorer 11 (Internet Explorer 10 can be used, but may require changes to your browser settings), Google Chrome v.38 or greater, Mozilla Firefox v.27 or greater, Safari v.7 or greater.