Charitable Trust

Home / Office of the Treasurer / Charitable Trust
Charitable Trust – Helping Small Nonprofits across Illinois

The Charitable Trust Stabilization Fund (“Fund”) was created in 2007 to help small non-profits across Illinois.  Money for the Fund comes from the filing fees not-for-profit organizations pay to incorporate with the State of Illinois.  The program is funded by non-profits and exists to help non-profits.

State Treasurer Michael Frerichs is committed to making this long dormant program operational and successful. Treasurer Frerichs and the State Treasurer’s office work with an 10 member committee that oversees the management and guidelines of the Fund. The board is made up of appointees from State government agencies and private citizens.


The Fund is intended to help small non-profits, with annual budgets of $1 Million or less.  For the calendar year of 2017, the Fund will focus grant-making in three categories: Food Programs, Housing, and Workforce Development. Grants will be awarded twice in 2017, subject to budget appropriation.  Applications will be accepted during two periods, from February 1, 2017 through March 31, 2017, and from July 1 2017, through September 30, 2017.  Grant applicants located in Illinois Enterprise Zones or similarly depressed economic areas will receive special attention.

Applicants will need to complete the online application in full, including all requested documents and forms. Applicants without access to a computer or the Internet should contact the State Treasurer’s office at (312) 814-1817.

The application requests basic information about the non-profit organization and leadership.  Applicants will also be asked to certify their eligibility for this grant, provide a narrative on how the grant money will be spent, and provide supporting documentation that shows their non-profit has filed appropriate forms with the State of Illinois and the Federal Government, and other information that demonstrates the fiscal health of the organization.  

Questions about this program or the application can be directed to:, or at (217) 836-4590.

For more information about eligibility and the criteria that will be used to judge applications, click here.


For some basic information regarding Charitable Trust, please see the Charitable Trust Fact Sheet.  

Check this webpage for updates on the implementation of Charitable Trust.

Charitable Trust Board Members

Illinois State Treasurer Michael Frerichs, Co-Chair
Jody Adler, Designee for Illinois Attorney General Lisa Madigan, Co-Chair
Susan Bence, Designee for Lieutenant Governor Evelyn Sanguinetti
Franciso Menchaca, Designee for the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulations     
Emilia DiMenco, Appointee
Andreason Brown, Appointee
Marcia Lipetz, Appointee
Dorri McWhorter, Appointee
Dale Morrissey, Appointee
Lisa Oakley,  Appointee

Charitable Trust Meeting Materials

Download Adobe Reader which is required to view (PDF) files.


Charitable Trust image